CALL (520) 222-8270 FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

Tucson Under 21 DUI Minor In Possession Attorney

Police Departments such as University of Arizona Police Department, and Pima Community College Police Department strictly enforce alcohol laws targeting minors such as DUI and Minor in Possession of alcohol.  Elias Damianakos is an experienced Tucson Under 21 DUI Minor In Possession attorney that represents minors and underaged people charged with DUI and alcohol related offenses.

In Arizona, it is a misdemeanor for anybody under the age of 21 to have any amount of alcohol in his or her system (Minor in Possession), or to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their system (Minor Under 21 DUI).

Minor or Under 21 Years of Age in Possession of Alcohol

In Arizona, it is a misdemeanor for anybody under the age of 21 to have any amount of alcohol in his or her system. A.R.S. § 4-244(41) provides:

It is unlawful:

41. For a person under twenty-one years of age to have in the person’s body any spirituous liquor. In a prosecution for a violation of this paragraph:

(a) Pursuant to section 4-249, it is a defense that the spirituous liquor was consumed in connection with the bona fide practice of a religious belief or as an integral part of a religious exercise and in a manner not dangerous to public health or safety.

(b) Pursuant to section 4-226, it is a defense that the spirituous liquor was consumed for a bona fide medicinal purpose and in a manner not dangerous to public health or safety.

Minor or Under 21 DUI (Driving with Alcohol in System)

In Arizona, it is a misdemeanor for anybody under the age of 21 to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their system. A.R.S. § 4-244(34) provides:

It is unlawful:

34. For a person under twenty-one years of age to drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while there is any spirituous liquor in the person’s body.

Penalties for Minor or Under 21 Alcohol and DUI Offenses

Penalties for the above charges usually include a fine, an alcohol evaluation and treatment. In addition, for a conviction of Minor under 21 DUI, MVD will suspend the person’s license for 2 years. MVD may allow the person to have a restricted license for the entire 2 year period if the judge orders it. There is no jail penalty for a Minor under 21 DUI however.

If you or your loved one is charged with a under 21 minor DUI in Tucson, it is important to have an experienced Tucson Under 21 DUI Minor In Possession attorney by your side.  Contact us for a free consultation and to discuss your options.

Close Menu