Reckless Driving

Tucson Reckless Driving Attorney

Reckless driving charges in Arizona is a serious traffic offense. It is either a class 1 or class 2 misdemeanor. A conviction for reckless driving will cost 8 points on your Arizona drivers license, and you will have to complete Traffic Survival School. A conviction of reckless driving with a prior conviction of reckless driving within 24 months requires a mandatory 20 day jail period.  Elias Damianakos is an experienced Tucson reckless driving attorney defending people against reckless driving, criminal speeding and all traffic charges.

Reckless Driving – A.R.S. § 28-693

Arizona’s reckless driving statute is A.R.S. § 28-693, and provides as follows:

A. A person who drives a vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.

B. A person convicted of reckless driving is guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor.

C. In addition, the judge may require the surrender to a police officer of any driver license of the convicted person, shall report the conviction to the department and may order the driving privileges of the person to be suspended for a period of not more than ninety days. On receipt of the abstract of conviction and order, the department shall suspend the driving privilege of the person for the period of time ordered by the judge.

D. If a person who is convicted of a violation of this section has been previously convicted of a violation of this section, section 13-1102 or section 13-1103, subsection A, paragraph 1, in the driving of a vehicle, or section 28-708, 28-1381, 28-1382 or 28-1383 within a period of twenty-four months:

1. The person is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor.

2. The person is not eligible for probation, pardon, suspension of sentence or release on any basis until the person has served not less than twenty days in jail.

3. The judge may require the surrender to a police officer of any driver license of the person and shall immediately forward the abstract of conviction to the department.

4. On receipt of the abstract of conviction, the department shall revoke the driving privilege of the person.

E. In applying the twenty-four month period provision of subsection D of this section, the dates of the commission of the offense shall be the determining factor, irrespective of the sequence in which the offenses were committed. A second or subsequent violation for which a conviction occurs as provided in this section does not include a conviction for an offense arising out of the same series of acts.

F. On pronouncement of a jail sentence under this section, and after the court receives confirmation that the person is employed or is a student, the court may provide in the sentence that if the defendant is employed or is a student the defendant can continue employment or schooling for not more than twelve hours per day nor more than five days per week. The defendant shall spend the remaining days or parts of days in jail until the sentence is served and shall be allowed out of jail only long enough to complete the defendant’s actual hours of employment or schooling.

As you can see, a reckless driving conviction carries severe penalties. We have experience in defending people accused of reckless driving, and have obtained favorable results for our clients. Contact us for more information and to speak to Elias Damianakos, and experienced Tucson reckless driving attorney.